3 things.

df28758c013696731084ec137027d698

–props to Sisley for this apt depiction of cold weather–

(as I sit here alone in the student union bundled in my coat and earmuffs, snatching a few minutes of internet.)

One thing that I am determined to do while I am away at college is see beauty in unexpected and completely mundane things.  Being sick for two years can blur your outlook on the fact that reality is beautiful and that it truly is what we see in the little that affects how we see the big.  I want to see normality as beauty, because it is our very lives that are made up of normal things.  We live and breathe mundane.  Beauty came in the form of these three things:

1. Drinking tea with mom amidst the chaos of my unpacked dorm room.  I put up my hot pot and we sat sipping next to the boxes and baskets and vacuums and cleaning rags.  We talked.  Dad should have taken a picture.

2. Communicating with my RA via Post-It Notes.  This is a novelty that I think I will always love.  What a treasure to find them on your door, write a reply, and stick it to her door.

3. My dinner.  It is consisting of organic multi-color carrots, organic hummus, homemade kefir, organic cheddar cheese, and clementines.  On my new dishes.  In my new room.

I’m thrilled to be here.  That’s for sure.

Leave a comment